The illusion of Film – Blending my Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera with Filmstock

Kinor-16SX-2M

I have been told that the closest equivalent of negative filmstock that emulates the image coming from a Blackmagic Cinema Camera, a Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera, or a Blackmagic Micro Cinema Camera, that works best for colour grading and matching with these cameras in DaVinci Resolve, is Kodak Vision3 250D 5207 Colour Negative, the successor of 5205. It seems to me, watching footage of 5207 (see below) that it has a dynamic range (with a good margin) and grainess that would match these cameras. I haven’t given upp fully on my original plan (10 years ago) of modifying my Zenit Kinor-16 SX-2M to crystal sync with frame rates up to 60 fps. I saw a short shot in Cuba some months ago, which intercut footage from the BMPCC and Super 16 film stock. This made me curious, as I couldn’t spot which format was which.

Leave a Reply

